Updates & Lawyers Assistance

Updates

  1. Click to register for Working Remotely in the Law & Video-Communications During the Time of COVID-19 & Beyond.  We will be hosting this free event online on Monday, April 20, 11:00 a.m.  Registration is required.
  2. The BCBA, through donations from its members, donated 40 meals from CVP Towson to healthcare providers at Greater Baltimore Medical Center.  If you are interested in donating to next week’s meal delivery to local healthcare workers, contact Rachel Ruocco at rruocco@bcba.org.
  3. BCBA Bingo – a free, virtual bingo event is in the works for any BCBA member (or their family).  Bingo cards will be distributed electronically and numbers will be called using Skype for Business.  Gift certificates purchased from local Baltimore County restaurants and businesses will be awarded to the winners.  If you are interested in participating, email Michael.W.Siri@gmail.com.

Mental Health During COVID-19

Many of our members feel nervous and concerned about COVID-19.  Fear and anxiety about the disease, its effect on your health or the health of a loved one, and the ramifications on your career take both an emotional and physical toll.  Additionally, the effects are exacerbated in this new world of social distancing, telecommuting, and self-isolation.
If you or someone you know needs assistance, the Lawyers Assistance Program (LAP) can help.  Free and confidential support is available for a broad range of personal issues.  The BCBA works with the Maryland State Bar Association to assist with providing access to treatment facilities, provide emergency practice management, referrals to professional counselors, and direction to information to assist any lawyer in Maryland.  The following volunteers are ready and willing to aid and support:
Jay Miller – JMiller@lawpga.com;
Gary Miles – gary@lawhjm.com
Joseph Murtha – jmurtha@mpllawyers.com;
Jose Molina – jamolinalaw@gmail.com;
Karen Pilarski – karenapilarski@gmail.com;
Richard Lynas – lynas.richard@yahoo.com;
Marissa Joelson – MJoelson@lawpga.com;
Mary Chalawsky – chalawskylaw@gmail.com;
Stuart Axilbund – saxilbund@axilbund.com;
Sam Moxley – smoxley@baltimorecountymd.gov;
William Kerr – wlawkerr@verizon.net;
Bill Saltysiak – wsaltysiak@gmail.com

You may also call 1-888-388-5459

Additionally, several articles and resources are available through the MSBA (www.msba.org/covid-19/wellness), including weekly support groups, tips to manage anxiety, and workout videos to alleviate stress.  You do not need to be a member of the BCBA or MSBA to use any of the services provided by the Lawyers Assistance Program.  Any lawyer in Maryland has access.
During these difficult times, please remember that you are not alone.  The BCBA is here for your both professionally and personally.  We will get through this… together.